If Twilight Didn’t Exist

I am a die hard Twilight fan girl. I think the love story is beautiful and love the whole concept of how vampires sparkle. Yes I know, I also have a horror side in my writing. That being said my vampires probably wouldn’t sparkle.

So, why did I bring this up? The answer is simple. I love the courage it took for Stephanie Meyer to write a story about vampires and throw out the handbook on what exactly a vampire is like. I love how she faced the history of vampires head on and said no. This story is going to be done my way. I am going to write about these two characters falling in love and I’m going to rewrite the history of vampires as a whole.

That thought process inspired me to write Shine. It inspired me to take everything ever written about angels and throw it out. It made me see the entire world of angels in a different light. If it wasn’t for her courage in the face of history, Shine wouldn’t have been written.

I started with a common phrase, WHAT IF…

What if my character fell in love with an angel? (Totally been done, Nicholas Sparks, City of Angels)

What if my character had a gift that allowed her to ascend? (Totally been done, Buffy the Vampire Slayer)

What if true love allowed my character to become an angel? (So far as I’ve read, that one hasn’t been done. Jumps up and down and gets down to work.)

I couldn’t get the idea out of my mind. I had dreams about it. I woke up in the middle of the night and had to write what I had seen in dreams. I researched and read everything including the Bible, to see what the world had to offer. The idea wouldn’t leave me alone. My Muse angel had given me the best piece of inspiration…it was a gift.

Then fear touched me. Oh no, what if people hate it because it’s never been done? That’s when I remembered Twilight. Nobody had ever made a sparkly vampire, no body stepped outside the comfort zone of the previously written rules and said that’s not my world. It was then that it dawned on me the amount of courage it took to go against the grain. It also made me realize why the hell not go against the grain? I have never been a conformist anyways. Might as well write a love story about angels that I want to write.

Shine ended up going farther than recreating a whole world of angels. During editing, I realized this book was about hope. It was about the fact that none of us are truly alone. It made me feel that love is at the core of every soul if they allow themselves to be opened to it. In the end, the story Shine is literally about love making all things possible. In a lot of ways, that’s exactly what Twilight is about. Love can surpass any boundaries society has relegated. Love sets fire to labels and love inspires hope and courage.

So, if Twilight never existed…Shine probably wouldn’t either. For this I want to thank Stephanie Meyer for inspiring love and having the courage to throw away the rules. Thank you for inspiring me to do the same.

 

